Matthew Garrett ([info]mjg59) wrote,
@ 2008-08-13 21:15:00
Previous Entry  Add to memories!  Tell a Friend!  Next Entry
To the lovely person who subscribed me to around 200 mailing lists this evening:

I will find you.



(Post a new comment)


[info]reddragdiva
2008-08-13 08:51 pm UTC (link)
Me as well.

(Reply to this) (Thread)


[info]mjg59
2008-08-13 08:53 pm UTC (link)
One of the confirm messages included the IP address of a DSL line in Canada. I've contacted the ISP, but I'm not overly optimistic of getting anything out of that. What have we got in common?

(Reply to this) (Parent)(Thread)


[info]reddragdiva
2008-08-13 09:00 pm UTC (link)
Bingo - 67.212.9.36. Oddly enough there's nothing on Wikipedia from that address (they subscribed my wp@davidgerard.co.uk address). I have no idea what we have in common.

(Reply to this) (Parent)(Thread)


[info]mjg59
2008-08-13 09:05 pm UTC (link)
Hm. Seems to be the first email address you get on searching for you, which makes me wonder whether it's someone who knew your name but nothing else. Bizarre fallout from the Foxconn stuff?

(Reply to this) (Parent)(Thread)


[info]mjg59
2008-08-13 09:09 pm UTC (link)
And, erm, in fact:

http://67.212.9.36/

(Reply to this) (Parent)(Thread)


(Anonymous)
2008-08-13 09:58 pm UTC (link)
... what a bunch of utter c**ts!

(Reply to this) (Parent)(Thread)


(Anonymous)
2008-08-14 01:09 am UTC (link)
I told this to spam root@localhost.localdomain, I don't know if that will work but I have not much idea to spank the pranks... I'm probably not the first one to try that...

you'll have a hard time to get the one who gave your email anyway :/

(Reply to this) (Parent)


(Anonymous)
2008-08-14 01:12 am UTC (link)
I told this to spam root@localhost.localdomain, I don't know if that will work but I have not much idea to spank the pranks... I'm probably not the first one to try that...

you'll have a hard time to get the one who gave your email anyway :/

(ouch I just came to think that It will probably only spam ml servers... sorry to being stupid sometimes..., I should stop to try to be clever at 3AM...)

(Reply to this) (Parent)

chose your words!
(Anonymous)
2008-08-14 01:43 pm UTC (link)
cunts and dicks is SEXIST!,...use: motherfucker!. Reine.<reined@gmail.com>

(Reply to this) (Parent)


[info]reddragdiva
2008-08-13 09:50 pm UTC (link)
I didn't actually go looking for the IP until you mentioned it - I just assumed it was an amusement on the part of one of our dear little Wikipedia cranks. That'll be the first address you find for me because my Wikipedia user page is the first hit on my name.

(Reply to this) (Parent)


[info]mjg59
2008-08-13 09:08 pm UTC (link)
http://www.game-monitor.com/cstrike_GameServer/67.212.9.36:27015/El_Negros_Cracked_Server_is_back_.html - I think that answers that one.

(Reply to this) (Parent)


[info]clanwilliam
2008-08-13 11:41 pm UTC (link)
You both know me?

*hides*

(Reply to this) (Parent)(Thread)


[info]mjg59
2008-08-14 01:26 am UTC (link)
A suspect!

(Reply to this) (Parent)

Introductions
(Anonymous)
2008-08-13 09:45 pm UTC (link)
Hello to members of this site please to have joined your forum.

(Reply to this)


[info]clanwilliam
2008-08-13 11:41 pm UTC (link)
When you do, can I watch?

Please?

(Reply to this)

Crazy
(Anonymous)
2008-08-14 01:02 am UTC (link)
The same thing happened to me.

(Reply to this) (Thread)

Re: Crazy
[info]mjg59
2008-08-14 01:23 am UTC (link)
Who are you?

(Reply to this) (Parent)

Seeing a pattern
[info]jldugger
2008-08-14 01:03 am UTC (link)
I got hit as well.

(Reply to this) (Thread)

Re: Seeing a pattern
[info]jldugger
2008-08-14 01:13 am UTC (link)
If I might suggest a theory or two;

1) Launchpad disclosed too much info
2) Someone decided to hit everyone related to a recent post of mjg's via livejournal
3) Someone decided to spam every email "Ryan's Tech Blog" contained, possibly because it's wide open
4) the administrator deliberately pulled such a trigger in response so attacks he's recieved, targetting anyone who could conceivably be antagonistic

1) seems unlikely, and 2) seems impossible to guess for some people. 3 and 4 however, seem incredibly likely.

(Reply to this) (Parent)(Thread)

Re: Seeing a pattern
(Anonymous)
2008-08-14 05:45 am UTC (link)
In return, I might suggest a theory or two as to why they're no longer in operation:

1) Someone used their service to spam their ISP and DNS provider contact addresses, who cut them off;
2) Someone did a test to see just how many concurrent addresses could be signed up at once, and it fell apart under the load.

#2 seems likely because the server now just issues a 403 error on the root. #1 also seems likely because their DNS is now broken (points to 127.0.0.2), but that could also just be symptomatic of them trying to escape #2.

Not that I would know anything about this, of course. Heck, I barely know how to use the interwebs.

(Reply to this) (Parent)(Thread)

Re: Seeing a pattern
(Anonymous)
2008-08-16 12:25 am UTC (link)
Really the host of the spamza service knew just enough about technology to put this abusive service together, but not enough to realise that you should filter your input when you are running a 'sensitive' service, for example, block any attempts to enter a .gov/.mil or your ISP/Domain name service provider just for starters.

(Reply to this) (Parent)

Re: Seeing a pattern
[info]mjg59
2008-08-16 07:47 pm UTC (link)
In return, I might suggest a theory or two as to why they're no longer in operation:

3) I got the person hosting it to take the site down? Just a guess.

(Reply to this) (Parent)


Create an Account
Forgot your login or password?
Login w/ OpenID
English • Español • Deutsch • Русский…